The Karoo – “Land of Thirst”

28 November 2019

Formed of three parts – the Great Karoo is the larger, more northerly sub-region of the Karoo, bordering the Little Karoo in the south and the Upper Karoo in the north.

The Great Karoo’s semi-arid highlands are characterised by dramatic mountain scenery contrasting with flat savannah plains which were once the home to huge herds of game.

Also known as the Klein Karoo, the Little Karoo is the long valley stretching across the Western Cape bordered by the Swartberg and Langeberg Mountains. The undulating semi-arid landscape is home to dramatic rock formations and a rich bio-diversity of fauna and flora.

Photography by Dirk Rees.